Imagine…

lennonWhenever I go to Rizal Library, no matter what or how important the task that I’m supposed to do is, may it be finishing a paper, studying for a math long test, or just waiting for my next class, I always end up doing another thing instead —– listening to singing auditions. Why? I’m not really sure about my exact reason for doing so, but it is somehow a combination from these things about me:

  1. I love music and singing. I practically sing anywhere and anytime. I even sing quietly to myself while in class, so don’t be surprised if you see me talking to myself, for I’m not really talking to myself but – singing to myself.
  2.  I’m a frustrated singer and sadly, my love for music is an unrequited one. Music doesn’t love me back, so don’t ever try to listen to what “I am singing to myself” for it will just be a waste of your time.
  3.  I love the thrill that I feel whenever I listen to someone’s voice for the first time. Take note of the words: FOR THE FIRST TIME, for I really mean it. I’m the type of person who easily gets TIRED of the SAME things, which also applies in what I listen to.  I’m not a fan of HEARING the SAME VOICES over and over again, well except if it’s from my favorite singer/s.
  4.   Lastly, in connection to what I’m supposed to be saying/writing in this blog, I think that watching auditions enables me to hear the best songs that this world has to offer. I believe that most of the songs that were sung in auditions are really good.  Those people who auditioned won’t really use songs that aren’t really good if they want to win, right?

So again- in connection to what I’m supposed to do in this blog and all the sharing (of things about myself) that I’ve done in the previous sentences, I found this audition of Emmanuel Kelly and I think that the song he had sung can qualify to Mc Gil’s seventh definition of poetic writing– “a piece of writing is poetic when it forces an epiphany”.

(Reminder: Prepare yourselves and maybe some tissue paper too, for most probably, you will cry after this video.)

(Video of audition)

Also, here’s the lyric of the song and the original music video (below).

Imagine

by John Lennon

Imagine there’s no heaven
It’s easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Living for today…

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace…

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one

Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world…

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one

(Official Music Video by John Lennon)

Before explaining why I find “Imagine” by John Lennon, as something that forces an epiphany, I would like to share this quote from JK Rowling about epiphany:

“There’s nothing better when something comes and hits you and you think ‘YES’!”.

Rowling’s quote describes exactly what I felt while listening to “Imagine”. Actually, it’s not really me alone that felt this kind of “Yes-feeling”, for many actually had the same feeling with regards to this legendary song. (Imagine, “Imagine” is the 3rd greatest songs of all time in ranking of Rolling Stone and it is the best-selling single of John Lennon).

So what epiphany does it gives me and the others? “Imagine” brings the idea that the world will be a better and peaceful place if the divisive barriers of governments, borders, religions, nationalities, economic class and materialism don’t exist. In short, just as what Yoko Ono (wife of Lennon) said, “Imagine” was “just what John (Lennon) believed: that we are all one country, one world, one people. He wanted to get that idea out.”

In the end, Lennon not just succeeded in getting his idea out. He was also able to use “Imagine” – his greatest musical gift to the world, in inspiring so many people. Although, not everyone might actually agree with everything that he said (in his song), no one can deny that this song somehow forces an epiphany on everyone who hears it, for somehow, he really is right! 🙂

Also, Today’s John Lennon’s Death Anniversary. 🙂 (What a coincidence 😛 )

– Kismet

Sources:

“500 Greatest Songs of All Time: John Lennon, ‘Imagine’ | Rolling Stone.” Rolling Stone. N.p., 7 Apr. 2011. Web. 07 Dec. 2013. <http://www.rollingstone.com/music/lists/the-500-greatest-songs-of-all-time-20110407/john-lennon-imagine-20110516&gt;.

“What John Lennon Really Meant in ‘Imagine'” WND. N.p., 05 Dec. 2012. Web. 05 Dec. 2013. <http://www.wnd.com/2012/12/what-john-lennon-really-meant-in-imagine/&gt;.

“”Imagine” , – John Lennon [HD] (Official Video 1971).” YouTube. YouTube, 22 Aug. 2012. Web. 07 Dec. 2013. <http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b7h8WbDGI5o&gt;.

“Emmanuel Kelly The X Factor 2011 Auditions Emmanuel Kelly FULL.” YouTube. YouTube, 29 Aug. 2011. Web. 07 Dec. 2013. <http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W86jlvrG54o&gt;.

“”Imagine” Lyrics – JOHN LENNON.” JOHN LENNON Lyrics. N.p., 1 Feb. 2001. Web. 07 Dec. 2013. <http://www.oldielyrics.com/lyrics/john_lennon/imagine.html&gt;.

Leave a comment